• montage1


European e-Competence Framework version 3.0

The e-CF 3.0 was published by the CEN ICT Skills Workshop as a CEN Workshop Agreement (CWA) 16234 in 2014. Following consultation of CEN member states, the e-CF 3.0 was transformed into a European standard and re-published in 2016 as the European Norm (EN) 16234. EN 16234-1:2016 supersedes CWA 16234-1:2014.

The European e-Competence Framework is a component of the European Union’s strategy on e-Skills for the 21st Century. It is also supporting key policy objectives of the Grand Coalition for Digital Jobs launched in March 2013. It is promoted as a very useful tool to boost digital skills and the recognition of competences and qualifications across countries and to foster ICT professionalism in Europe.

© CEN copyright protected work. Reproduction is governed by Guide 10 on Copyright, Distribution and Sales of CEN-CENELEC publications, available here. No commercial use or exploitation is allowed.

CEN TC 428 Digital competences and ICT Professionalism

With transformation of the e-CF 3.0 16234:2014 CWA into the European Norm EN 16234:2016, e-CF maintenance responsibility has been taken over by the CEN Technical Committee (TC) 428.

The CEN Technical Committee CEN/TC 428 “Digital competences and ICT Professionalism” is responsible for the standardization of a common language of Professional Digital and ICT competences, skills and knowledge applied in all domains.

CEN Workshop on ICT Skills

The CEN Workshop on ICT Skills is a network of experts representing the ICT industry, academic institutions, vocational training organisations, ICT professional associations, social partners and research institutions.

The workshop aims to promote excellence in the ICT sector and strengthen the ICT profession through the creation of relevant supporting standards that can be applied throughout Europe and around the world.

All CEN Workshop Agreements (CWAs) in the field of ICT Skills can be found on the CEN website (under Sectors > ICT).

About CEN

CEN (European Committee for Standardization) is one of the three officially recognised organisations responsible for developing and defining standards at European level – together with CENELEC (European Committee for Electrotechnical Standardization) and ETSI (European Telecommunications Standards Institute). CEN develops European Standards setting out specifications and procedures in relation to a wide range of products and services.

The members of CEN are the National Standards Bodies of 33 European countries including all of the European Union member states, three countries of the European Free Trade Association (Iceland, Norway and Switzerland) and two EU candidate countries (Turkey and the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia). European Standards (ENs) approved by CEN are accepted and recognised in all of these countries.

For more information, please see www.cen.eu and www.cencenelec.eu.

The European e-Competence Framework version 3.0 work was supported by the European Commission, Directorate General Enterprise and Industry, and the European Free Trade Association.

About The Grand Coalition

The Grand Coalition for Digital Jobs will help accelerate and intensify efforts initiated by European policies, such as the Digital Agenda for Europe, the e-Skills Strategy, the Employment Package, the Opening up Education Initiative, the Rethinking Education Strategy, the Youth Opportunities Initiative, and the EU Skills Panorama.

About this website

Legal owner: CEPIS – Council of European Professional Informatics Societies, Brussels

Conception: Breyer Publico Consulting, Berlin – Barcelona
Design: Grafikhandlung, Hamburg
Web programming: Yellobit Digital Dienste, Hamburg

Foto sources: Dreamstime.com (Jeff Wasserman, Antikainen, Micha Rosenwirth, Drx, Auremar, Jonathan Ross, Goodluz, Syda Productions, Rmarmion, Gelpi, Photographerlondon, Magomed Magomedagaev, Monkey Business Images, Nyul, Pavalache Stelian, Jason Stitt, Ronnie Patrick, Andres Rodriguez, Wavebreakmedia Ltd, Valua Vitaly, Luminis); Fotolia.com (pressmaster)

Get it:

e-CF CWA download
EN16234-1 sales points