e-CF overview

The European e-Competence Framework is not based on job profiles but rather on competences as this approach is more flexible. Its purpose is to provide general and comprehensive e-Competences specified at five proficiency levels that can then be adapted and customised into different contexts from ICT business and stakeholder application perspectives.

The 41 competences of the framework are classified according to five main ICT business areas and relate to the European Qualifications Framework (EQF).

A reference framework structured from four dimensions

The four dimensions of the European e-Competence Framework reflect different levels of business and human resource planning requirements in addition to job/ work proficiency guidelines. They are specified as follows:

 Dimension 1 5 e-Competence areas, derived from the ICT business processes
 Dimension 2 A set of reference e-Competences for each area, with a generic description for each competence. 41 competences identified in total provide the European generic reference definitions of the framework.
 Dimension 3 Proficiency levels of each e-Competence provide European reference level specifications on e-Competence levels e-1 to e-5, which are related to EQF levels 3-8.
 Dimension 4 Samples of knowledge and skills relate to e-Competences in dimension 2. They are provided to add value and context and are not intended to be exhaustive.


Whilst competence definitions are explicitly assigned to dimension 2 and 3 and the references about knowledge and skills appear in dimension 4 of the framework, attitudes are embedded in all three dimensions. This is complemented by 7 Transversal Aspects relevant to ICT professional competence performance.

e-Competence example A.2. Service Level Management

Understanding of ICT workplace competence needs

The European e-Competence Framework provides a basic, clear and sound orientation for all type of organisations in the public and private sector who need to communicate and take decisions about recruitment, career paths, training, curricula, assessment, etc. It is also very useful for designing and promoting learning programs and clearer responses to competence needs from ICT organisations, professions and professional perspective.

Get it:

e-CF CWA download
EN16234-1 sales points